Diary Entry: Day 1

3rd December 2013

Today started out as any ordinary day, but ended up a living nightmare, a nightmare drenched smoke, fire, dead bodies and gunshots. I felt lucky to even be able to stand on my own two feet after seeing some of the dismembered people laying on the road, waiting to be put out of their misery.

I was just relaxing at home when it all started turning for the worse, I heard the earsplitting roar of something that could only be an F-16. The windows of my room shattered, my eardrums felt like they exploded. At that moment, my parents burst through my door, told me not to panic and to take anything that was essential. I felt confused and lost as I mindlessly tried to gather vitals into an undersized valise. After I crammed in everything I could, I went into the living room. All the TV channels were giving out nothing but static and nothing could be heard on the radio. My parents said then said that Dubai was being being attacked, and that we had to flee to the nearest safe haven, in this case Abu Dhabi.

As we rushed into our car, and began our daunting journey to Abu Dhabi, I could just hope and pray that my friends and family were all fine and that they had gotten to safety. Today was a complete calamity. It seemed as if anything I did at this point would be futile as all I all I could do was listen to the fear-inducing explosions and gunshots behind the car. I felt lost, as I didn’t know where we were going or what was going to happen next, muddled at the fact that I was truly clueless to everything around me and scared that I may not live to see another day.

Keep in mind that all work is fictional.

Leave a comment