Diary Entry: Day 2

4th December 2013

We reached Abu Dhabi in one piece, with everyone safe, thankfully. After hours of searching the desolate streets, we found a small, almost eerie, abandoned apartment that we decided to take shelter in.

There was no electricity and no communication as the opposing forces first undertaking seemed to have been the destruction of power suppliers and telecommunication lines. The absence of those two vital aspects of life was certainly taking it’s toll on everyone. We didn’t know what was going on or where we could go. We felt alone, helpless and desperate, desperate for anything from warmth to communication to food. Relying solely on the small rations we had packed earlier, we made do with what little we had, but we had no idea as to how long they would last us.

I was going irate, but I needed to be brave for my families sake, I needed to assure myself that I would be prepared for any and every situation. I wanted to know how my friends were doing, but alas, no communication. Despite all those feelings, one stood out, one was more intense, anger. I was livid at the fact some creature would just say the word, and instantly ruin, if not destroy innocent peoples lives. As day 2 winded up and finished my so-called meal, I thought to myself, is tomorrow worth it?

Again, this is all fictional.

Leave a comment