Diary Entry: Day 3

5th December 2013

Our food was running out, and so was my hope, my hope that this would all be over soon, hope that I could look outside without worrying that an AK-47 would be aiming down at me. We had met up with a family that had also fled from Dubai, they told us that Dubai had been in ruins, that nothing was the same, smoke along the buildings, fissures among the roads and gunshots were almost all that they had heard, and lastly… Abu Dhabi was next.

I tried not to panic and just think of a reasonable way to overcome. I couldn’t do it. My dad then decided that we should continue to go towards the border of urban Abu Dhabi, in hopes that the conflict might be over before they invaded that area. We continued our overwhelming journey, and it gave me a lot to think about, what good were material possessions at times like this? How helpful would a 50″ flat screen be right now? Not a lot. Circumstances like the current really does put ones life into perspective.

I tried to look for anything that could be useful as we ventured through the barren streets, but found nothing, the streets were empty and meaningless at this point, abandoned cars and stores were copious, whereas patience and optimism were running thin. We found shelter in another deserted apartment, where we wind up another day in this hellhole, where it seems more likely than not, all hope is gone.

Yes, yes, it’s all fiction.

Leave a comment